HOME  >  About the Organization

About the Organization

1. The Organization

International School of Asia, Karuizawa

2. Location

Karuizawa Campus
5827-136 Nagakura, Karuizawa-machi, Kitasaku-gun, Nagano 389-0111
TEL: 0267(46)8623 (From overseas please call +81 267 46 8623)

3. Board Members

Photo: Lin Kobayashi

Lin Kobayashi
Co-Founder and Chair of the Board

Ms. Lin Kobayashi is the co-founder and Chair of the Board at International School of Asia, Karuizawa (ISAK). Ms. Kobayashi’s passion for education began during her studies at a residential high school in Canada, and continued to develop over the years. Before returning to Tokyo in 2008 to launch the ISAK project, she spent two years working for the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) in the Philippines, where she worked to program non-formal education projects for street children. Prior to UNICEF, Ms. Kobayashi worked
at the Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC).

Ms. Kobayashi began her career at Morgan Stanley and holds an MA in International Education Policy Analysis from Stanford University and a BA in Development Economics from the University of Tokyo. More recently, Ms. Kobayashi was honored with the title of “Young Global Leader 2012” by the World Economic Forum, was selected as a “Change-maker of the Year 2013” and “Nikkei Woman of the Year 2014” by Nikkei Business, one of Japan’s top business magazines. She is currently a member of the Committee for Japan’s Future under the Council on Economic and Fiscal Policy, as well as a member of the Council for the Implementation of Education Rebuilding, Cabinet Secretariat.


Photo: Mamoru Taniya

Mamoru Taniya
Representative Founder and Director of the Board

Mamoru Taniya is Chairman and CEO of Asuka Asset Management, Ltd. He has a broad range of investment experiences covering from fixed-income derivatives to private equities. Prior to founding Asuka, Taniya was a director at Tudor Capital Japan (1999-2002) and previously a managing director at Salomon Smith Barney. At Tudor he successfully started its private equity business in Japan. At Salomon, Taniya co-managed the Japan and Asia proprietary trading department. Mamoru Taniya received his B.A. in law from the University of Tokyo in 1987.

Photo: Roderick Jemison

Roderick Jemison
Founding Head of School

Served as the Director of the Upper School at a prestigious private school near San Diego, where he successfully led in all areas of the high school’s operation including educational program reform, fundraising, finance, preparing for college and marketing. In July 2013 moved to Japan with his wife and only daughter and is currently putting all of his efforts in starting up ISAK.

Photo: Hidehiro Imatsu

Hidehiro Imatsu

Hidehiro joined Goldman Sachs after graduating from graduate school of engineering at Kyoto University. After working for Morgan Stanley, he rejoined Goldman Sachs where he is the head of Japan fixed income, currency and commodity trading and also co-heads of Asia Pacific macro trading.

Photo: Hiroko Kono

Hiroko Kono

Hiroko joined the Ship and Aerospace Division of Mitsubishi Corporation after graduating from the Faculty of Letters, Arts and Sciences at Waseda University. In 2003, Hiroko left Mitsubishi to join the Capital Group, an American-based asset management company, where she worked as an analyst handling investment research in Asian stocks and managing portfolios. After a total of eight years working in the United States, Hiroko returned to Japan in 2008. Hiroko felt drawn to the ISAK mission and vision, both as a businessperson and as a mother of two high school students, and she joined ISAK as a full-time staff member in November 2011.

Photo: Kimiya Yamamoto

Kimiya Yamamoto

After graduating from Rikkyo University and obtaining an MBA from the Thunderbird School of Global Management, Kimiya worked for Mitsui Chemicals. After establishing two venture companies, he assumed the position of the President and CEO of ASAHI Net, Inc. in 2006. He led the company to be listed on the first section of the Tokyo Stock Exchange the following year. Currently, he is the Chairman of K-Broadway, Inc. as well as the board member of G2010, an electronic book publisher that he established with Mr. Ryu Murakami. A member of the Japan Association of Corporate Executives. Vice Chair of Human Rights Watch Tokyo Committee.

Photo: Masakazu Yanagisawa

Masakazu Yanagisawa

Masakazu currently heads up the Global Prime Finance business within its Global Markets division in Deutsche Securities. He started his career at Merrill Lynch, where he worked in London until 2006. After returning to Japan, he has been involved in hedge fund related businesses. He graduated from the School of Policy Management at Keio University.


  • Trustee Heang Chhor
  • Trustee Lisa Darling
  • Trustee Yasushi Hatakeyama
  • Trustee Hidehiko Hayashi
  • Trustee Tsutomu Horiuchi
  • Trustee Roderick Jemison
  • Trustee Lin Kobayashi
  • Trustee Hiroko Kono
  • Trustee Masahiro Koshiba
  • Trustee Mariko Magnan
  • Trustee Teruhide Sato
  • Trustee Yuriko Takahashi
  • Trustee Makoto Takano
  • Trustee Mamoru Taniya
  • Trustee Kimiya Yamamoto
  • Trustee Masakazu Yanagisawa

Statutory Auditor

  • Statutory Auditor Shigeyuki Mito (Partner of TMI Associates)
  • Statutory Auditor Hiroshi Nakata (Chairman of KeepTree, Inc.)

Advisory Board

  • Chairman Nobuyuki Idei (former CEO, Sony; former Vice Chairman, Keidanren)
  • Advisor David Katsujin Chao (Cofounder, DCM; Trustee, Thacher School)
  • Advisor Heang Chhor (Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company, Singapore)
  • Advisor Yasuchika Hasegawa (President & CEO, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited;
    Chairman, Japan Association of Corporate Executives)
  • Advisor Takeshi Isayama (Chairman, Carlyle Group Japan; former Vice Chairman, Nissan Motor)
  • Advisor Kakutaro Kitashiro (Executive Advisor, IBM Japan; former CEO, IBM Japan)
  • Advisor Edward Suzuki (Architect, Edward Suzuki Associates, Inc.)
  • Advisor Kan Suzuki (Visiting professor at Osaka University, University of Tsukuba and Chuo
  • Advisor Fumio Tateishi (Executive Director and Chairman, Omron)

(Alphabetical order)